Ebonyi Assembly declares seats of two lawmakers vacant


Ebonyi State House of Assembly on Thursday declared vacant the seats of two members namely Dr Oliver Osi  representing Ivo Constituency, and Mrs Lilian Ngozi Eziulo of Afikpo North East Constituency respectively.

This was the outcome of the  plenary session presided over by the Deputy Speaker Hon Kingsley Ogbonaya Ikoro held  at the legislative Chamber Nkaliki.

Declaring the seats vacant, the deputy Speaker Hon Ikoro , citing section 306 sub section 2 &7 of 1999 Nigerian Constitution as amended,  said that the action was due to the allegation levelled against the House by the two Lawmakers that the Assembly forged their defecation letters from PDP to APC.

In their contributions, the leader of the House Hon Victor Uzoma Chukwu, the Deputy leader Hon  OnuNwonye and member   representing Onicha West Constituency Hon Chukwuma Igwe , condemned the action of the lawmakers saying that the law must take it’s cause.

In an interview,  the Deputy Speaker  Hon Kinsley Ikoro, called on the Youths not to allow themselves to be used to cause violence .

Reacting to the Statement credited to the former  Senate President Anyim Pius Anyim  alluding that Nine  of All Progressive Congress (APC) members of the Assembly would join PDP, Hon Ikoro described it as false.

The 15 APC Lawmakers affirmed their loyalty to the party under the leadership. of Governor David Umahi.

They called on Media Practitioners to be factual in their reportage in order to advance the course of democracy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here